Travis Tritt
Born 1963 in Marietta, GA
Travis Tritt was one of the new leading country singers of the early '90s, holding his own in the same league as Garth Brooks, Clint Black, and Alan Jackson. Unlike the others, he dipped into bluesy Southern rock and didn't wear a hat. As a result he developed the gutsy, outlaw image that distinguished him from the pack. Throughout the early '90s, he had a string of platinum albums and Top Ten singles, including three number one hits.

Travis' love for music developed as a child, he taught himself how to play guitar when he was eight and was beginning to write songs when he was 14. Travis was determined to have a musical career but his parents didn't encourage him. His mother didn't mind that he wanted to perform, but she wanted him to sing gospel; his father believed there wasn't any money in singing. When he was 18, he tried to settle down, work and have a family but he was unsuccessful — he was married and divorced twice before he was 22. He continued to play music while working various jobs. It was while working for an air-conditioning company that the company's vice-president, who was a guitarist himself and had given up hopes of a musical career, urged Tritt to follow his dreams. Travis quit his job and began pursuing a career full-time.

In 1982, Travis began his career by recording a demo tape at a private studio owned by Danny Davenport, an executive at Warner Brothers. Davenport heard the vocalist's songs and was impressed enough to take Travis under his wing. For the next few years, the pair recorded demo tapes while Travis played the honky tonk circuit, developing a distinctive sound and adding elements of country and Southern rock to his honky tonk style.

Part way through in 1989, Warner Brothers' Nashville division signed Travis and his first album, Country Club, appeared in the stores in the spring 1990. It was preceded by the Top Ten hit",Country Club". Upon the release of his first album, Travis entered the 'top rank' of new country singers. His next two singles", Help Me Hold On" and "I'm Gonna Be Somebody", hit number one and two respectively". Put Some Drive In Your Country", which had a clear rock & roll influence, stalled at number four, since radio programmers were reluctant to feature such blatantly rock-derived music.

Despite his success, the Nashville music industry was reluctant to embrace Travis. His music and stage show owed too much to rock & roll, and his image didn't conform with the 'wear my hat' legions of new male singers. Despite this, Travis had a breakthrough success with his second album, 1991's It's All About to Change. Prior to its release, he had hired manager Ken Kragen, who also worked with Lionel Richie, Trisha Yearwood, Kenny Rogers, and We Are the World. Kragen helped market Tritt in a way that appealed to both country fans and a mass audience, sending It's All About to Change multi-platinum.

T-R-O-U-B-L-E, Tritt's third album, was released in 1992. Although it didn't match the success of It's all About to Change, it had the number one single "Can I Trust You With My Heart" and went gold. Travis bounced into 1994 with Ten Feet Tall & Bulletproof, which went platinum, bringing to light his number one single", Foolish Pride", and marking his highest position, number 20, on the pop charts. His 1995 compilation Greatest Hits — From the Beginning went platinum within six months of its November release. Restless Kind was released in 1996, followed two years later by No More Looking Over My Shoulder.

Having purchased several books and Cd's from, we've always found their service fast and efficient. We have no hesitation in recommending them as being both more economic and more convenient than purchasing products in a shop. We are delighted to bring you this treasured opportunity to own some of our favourite songs.

Order Your CD's
Travis Tritt - Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits
  1. Here's A Quarter (Call Someone Who Cares)
  2. Anymore
  3. Put Some Drive In Your Country
  4. Foolish Pride
  5. The Whiskey Ain't Workin' - (with Marty Stuart)
  6. Help Me Hold On
  7. I'm Gonna Be Somebody
  8. Only You (And You Alone)
  9. T-R-O-U-B-L-E
  10. Tell Me I Was Dreaming
  11. Country Club
  12. Can I Trust You With My Heart
  13. Sometimes She Forgets
  14. Ten Feet Tall And Bulletproof
  15. Drift Off To Dream

Page design by:JayDaxDesigns
© 2000 JayDax Designs