BORN: Gordon Sumner, October 2, 1951 Wallsend, Newcastle On Tyne, England
Before becoming lead singer for the band 'The Police', Sting's career included being a ditch digger and a school teacher (at St. Paul's Roman Catholic First School in Cramlington, England, where he taught English and was also a soccer coach). Before being invited to join The Police by Stewart Copeland, Sting was in many jazz bands, including The Ronnie Pierson Trio, Earthrise, the Phoenix Jazz Band, the River City Jazz Band, the Newcastle Big Band, and Last Exit.

Gordon received his nickname, 'Sting', while a member of The Phoenix Jazzmen. Everyone in the band had a nickname. One day he came to a rehearsal in a striped soccer sweater and the trombone player, Gordon Solomon, remarked that Sting looked like a bee. This led to him being called "Stinger" - which eventually became "Sting."

Before the Police were officially disbanded, Sting began work on his first solo album late in 1984, rounding up a group of jazz musicians as a supporting band. Moving from bass to guitar, he recorded his solo debut, 1985's The Dream of the Blue Turtles, with Branford Marsalis, Kenny Kirkland and Omar Hakim. The album included several historical references: The track, 'Russians' is about the Cold War era where Sting refers to a speech made by Russian premier Nikita Khrushchev in which he proclaimed to the capitalist world, "We will bury you," while tapping a shoe on the podium. "Oppenheimer's deadly toy" is the atomic bomb;. 'Children's Crusade' refers to all the young soldiers who died fighting in WWI; 'We Work the Black Seam' refers to the miners' strike in Britain in 1983. (Newcastle, Sting's birthplace, used to be famous for it's coal mines). The refrain refers to the Cold War era problems. The move from Police, wasn't entirely unexpected since, Sting had played with jazz and progressive rock bands in his youth, but the result was considerably more mature and diverse than any Police record. The album became a hit, with "If You Love Somebody Set Them Free," "Love Is the Seventh Wave" and "Fortress Around Your Heart" reaching the American Top Ten.

Sting brought the band out on an extensive tour, which was captured on a documentary called Bring on the Night, which appeared in 1986, along with a live double album of the same name. That year, Sting participated in a halfhearted Police reunion which resulted in only one new song, a re-recorded version of "Don't Stand So Close To Me." Following the aborted Police reunion, Sting began working on the ambitious Nothing Like the Sun, which was dedicated to his recently deceased mother. Working from a jazz foundation, and again collaborating with Marsalis, Sting worked with a number of different musicians on the album, including Gil Evans and former Police guitarist Andy Summers. The album received generally positive reviews upon its release in late 1987, and it generated hit singles with "We'll Be Together" (originally written for a beer commercial) and "They Dance Alone.", which is about the corrupt Pinochet government in Chile. Citizens would disappear for no reason, tortured to death by government workers.

Following the release of Nothing Like the Sun, Sting began actively campaigning for Amnesty International and environmentalism, establishing the Rainforest Foundation, which was designed to raise awareness about preserving the Brazilian rainforest. An abridged Spanish version of Nothing like the Sun, Nada Como el Sol, was released in 1988.

Sting took several years to deliver the follow-up to Nothing Like The Sun, during which time he appeared in a failed Broadway revival of The Threepenny Opera in 1989. His father also died, which inspired 1991's The Soul Cages, a dense, dark and complex album. Although the album peaked at number two and spawned the Top Ten hit "All This Time," the record was less successful than its predecessor. In All This Time, 'burial at sea' refers to the medieval Nordic burial tradition. When great men died, their bodies were put into wooden ships which were set on fire and set adrift in the sea. In this way they were buried at sea. Sting also refers to the Roman conquest and occupation of Britain 43AD - 420AD.

Two years later, Sting delivered Ten Summoner's Tales, a light, pop-oriented record that became a hit on the strength of two Top 20 singles, "If I Ever Lose My Faith In You" and "Fields of Gold." Again, the album included some history, Heavy Cloud No Rain makes reference to French king Louis XVI who was popular with the French people but became a casualty of the French Revolution.

At the end of 1993, "All for Love," a song he recorded with Rod Stewart and Bryan Adams for The Three Musketeers, became a number one hit. The single confirmed that Sting's audience had shifted from new wave/college rock fans to adult contemporary.

The 1994 compilation Fields of Gold and The Best of Sting played to the new adult contemporary audience. In June 1995, Sting designed a limited edition tee shirt for the Hard Rock Cafe chain of restaurants. Part of the proceeds from tee shirt sales went to the Elton John Aids Foundation.

Three years after Ten Summoner's Tales, Sting released Mercury Falling in the spring of 1996. Although the album started high, it quickly fell down the charts, stalling at platinum sales and failing to generate a hit single. While the album failed, Sting remained a popular concert attraction, confirming his immense popularity. Brand New Day followed in 1999.

Having purchased several books and Cd's from, we've always found their service fast and efficient. We have no hesitation in recommending them as being both more economic and more convenient than purchasing products in a shop. We are delighted to bring you this treasured opportunity to own some of our favourite songs. Jay has followed the career of Gordon Sumner, alias 'Sting', from when he first heard him as part of Police. It just goes to show that good things come from Newcastle, (They share a common birthplace).'s business reputation assures you that you are getting the best possible merchandise at an affordable price.

Order Your CD's
Best of Berlin
                                      1979 - 1988
Brand New Day
  1. A Thousand Years
  2. Desert Rose - (with Cheb Mami)
  3. Big Lie, Small World
  4. After The Rain Has Fallen
  5. Perfect Love...Gone Wrong
  6. Tomorrow We'll See
  7. Prelude To The End Of The Game
  8. Fill Her Up
  9. Ghost Story
  10. Brand New Day
Best of Berlin
                                      1979 - 1988
Fields of Gold
  1. When We Dance - (previously unreleased)
  2. If You Love Somebody Set Them Free
  3. Fields Of Gold
  4. All This Time
  5. Fortress Around Your Heart
  6. Be Still My Beating Heart
  7. They Dance Alone (Cueca Solo)
  8. If I Ever Lose My Faith In You
  9. Fragile
  10. Why Should I Cry For You?
  11. Englishman In New York
  12. We'll Be Together - (previously unreleased version)
  13. Russians
  14. This Cowboy Song - (previously unreleased)
Best of Berlin
                                      1979 - 1988
The Dream of the Blue Turtles
  1. If You Love Somebody Set Them Free
  2. Love Is The Seventh Wave
  3. Russians
  4. Children's Crusade
  5. Shadows In The Rain
  6. We Work The Black Seam
  7. Consider Me Gone
  8. The Dream Of The Blue Turtles
  9. Moon Over Bourbon Street
  10. Fortress Around Your Heart
Best of Berlin
                                      1979 - 1988
The Living Sea Soundtrack
  1. Fragile
  2. Why Should I Cry For You
  3. Cool Breeze
  4. Mad About You
  5. Ocean Waltz
  6. One World (Not Three) / Love Is The Seventh Wave
  7. Why Should I Cry For You?
  8. Saint Agnes And The Burning Train
  9. Tides
  10. Why Should I Cry For You?
  11. Arrival
  12. Jellyfish Lake
  13. Fragile (Reprise)

Page design by:JayDaxDesigns
© 2000 JayDax Designs