Susan Aglukark

BORN: January 27, 1967 in Churchill Manitoba, Canada

Susan Aglukark spent her childhood moving throughout the Keewatin Region of the Northwest Territories. Eventually her and her family settled in Arviat, NWT, a small community on the Hudson Bay.

Susan's musical career began in the early 1990s, after leaving her community to work as a linguist for the Department of Indian & Northern Affairs in Ottawa. Her earliest recording appeared on a CBC radio compilation of Eastern Arctic artists; her first video, for "Searching", won a Much Music Award for outstanding cinematography. Susan's first full album was 1992's independently released Arctic Rose, a hit with country and aboriginal music fans alike. EMI delivered a worldwide deal in 1993, and quickly released her Christmas album, featuring the song "Little Toy Trains". Arctic Rose was re-released in 1994 and resulted in two hit singles", Song of the Land" and "Still Running". It earned her Juno Awards for Best New Solo Artist and Best Aboriginal Canadian Recording and the Canadian Country Music Association's Vista Rising Star Award. Susan was also awarded the first-ever Aboriginal Achievement Award in the Arts & Entertainment field in 1994.

1995's This Child rocketed Susan to the top of Canadian music charts. Her first single", O Siem" reached number one on the Adult Contemporary charts and into the Top ten on Christian and Country radio. In 1996, the hits "Hina Na Ho" and "Breakin' Down" followed and led to five Juno Award nominations.

1999's Unsung Heroes is rich with messages of personal strength, love for community and optimism for the future. In April 1999, Arviat became part of Nunavut, Canada's newest territory, which returns the governing of the land to its native residents. This exceptional moment in history is celebrated on the joyful "Turn of the Century", in which Susan writes from her own personal point of view. Yet Susan Aglukark also explores the often-sorrowful history of Canada's Inuit people. The ballad "Never Be The Same" speaks for the victims of tuberculosis who were taken from their northern homes and sent to urban hospitals, often dying far from their families. "It's about how as soon as you leave your homeland, wherever that is, you lose your innocence", said Susan. This is followed by "E186", a solemn remembrance of a government policy initiated in the late 1930s where 'her people' were identified with dog tags. Susan describes it as a "dark little song", with a positive message from which the title Unsung Heroes is taken. Unsung Heroes documents Susan's experience as an Inuk, but also as a woman finding her place in the world.

Through her music, Susan spread uplifting messages to her own community and the nation at large. She was praised extensively in publications such as The New York Times, Saturday Night, Macleans, Modern Woman and Chatelaine, who touted her on its cover as a "pop star with a purpose". As an ambassador of Canadian culture, Susan has performed twice for HRH Queen Elizabeth, for Prime Ministers Mulroney and Chretien, for Nelson Mandela and at the World Special Olympics.

Having purchased several books and Cd's from, we've always found their service fast and efficient. We have no hesitation in recommending them as being both more economic and more convienent than purchasing products in a shop. We are delighted to bring you this treasured opportunity to own some of our favourite love songs.

In 1998, while in Canada, Dax and I first heard Susan's wonderful songs on 'This Child' CD. We only needed to hear 'O'Siem' once to become fans. Although Susan is not well known beyond the Canadian borders, she has the makings of a truly international career. We think, if you like Enya, you'll like Susan Aglukark. As Enya sings of her Irish heritage so sings Susan of the Inuit.'s business reputation assures you that you are getting the best possible merchandise at an affordable price.
If you don't find what you are looking for, drop us a line and we'll see if we can find it for you.

Order Your CD's
Air Supply, CD, Lost in love
This Child
  1. This Child
  2. Shamaya
  3. Suffer In Silence
  4. O Siem
  5. Dreams For You
  6. Hina Na Ho (Celebration)
  7. Kathy I
  8. Pond Inlet
  9. Slippin'through The Crac
  10. Breakin'down
  11. Casualties Of War

Page design by:JayDaxDesigns
© 2000 JayDax Designs